Breaking News

Brit Awards 2022

Brit Awards 2022 opens with Ed Sheran and Acrobats

The 2022 Brit Awards take place at the O2 Arena on Tuesday night, with Adele, Ed Sheeran, Dave and Little Simz leading the nominations.

The ceremony is being hosted for the first time by comedian Mo Gilligan, who takes over from Jack Whitehall.

With medleys and music legends at the heart of the BRITs on-stage performances, Anne-Marie and KSI along with Digital Farm Animals delivered a show-stopping three song set whilst rock royalty Liam Gallagher braved a helicopter to the O2 arena to perform his new single ‘Everything’s Electric’.

The BRITs in 2022 saw a number of changes to awards categories in order to create even more opportunities or artists to be recognised. The recipient of the BRITs’ first ever Songwriter of the Year award tonight went to Ed Sheeran.

Four new genre awards were launched this year, with a public vote by fans determining the overall winner in each of the new categories. Powered by TikTok in a first for both the app and the BRITs, millions of votes were cast in total over the two-week voting period. Having picked up two awards last year, Dua Lipa, was awarded with Pop/R&B Act, and having received her first ever BRIT nominations this year Becky Hill was awarded Dance Act. Alternative/Rock Act went to Sam Fender (bringing his UK record label Polydor’s tally of trophies up to 5), who later in the show went on to wow the audience with a performance of his Top Ten hit single ‘Seventeen Going Under.’ British rap royalty Dave was presented with the award for Hip Hop/Grime/Rap Act by Arsenal legends Ian Wright and Bukayo Saka, and closed the ceremony with a triumphant performance of ‘In The Fire’, where he was joined by fellow rappers Ghetts, Giggs, Fredo, Konyikeh and Meekz.

The Winners:. (in order presented on the night)

Song of The Year – Adele ‘Easy On Me’ In association with Mastercard
Presentedby: Ted Lasso’s Hannah Waddingham & Brett Goldstein 

International Song Of The Year – Olivia Rodrigo ‘Good 4 U’
Presented by: Johnny McDaid and Courtney Cox 

Pop/R&B Act – Dua Lipa
Presented by: Lando Norris and Jaime Winstone

Alternative/Rock Act – Sam Fender
Presented by: Ronnie Wood

Dance Act – Becky Hill
Presented by: Pete Tong and David Guetta

Group – Wolf Alice
Presented by: Måneskin

International Artist of the Year – Billie Eilish
Presented by: Vicky McClure and Jodie Whittaker

Best New Artist – Little Simz
Presented by: Tom Daley & Celeste

Hip Hop/Grime/Rap Act – Dave
Presented by: Ian Wright & Bukayo Saka

International Group – Silk Sonic/Bruno Mars/Anderson .Paak
Presented by: Clara Amfo

Artist Of The Year – Adele In association with YouTube Shorts
Presented by: Mo Farah

Songwriter Of The Year – Ed Sheeran
Presented by: Brian Cox

Mastercard Album Of The Year – Adele ‘30’
Presented by: Idris Elba

The show broadcasts on ITV at 8pm GMT on Tuesday.

%d bloggers like this: