Parliamentary General Election 12 December 2019

Parliamentary General Election Results 12 December 2019

Exit Polls show a record swing for conservative gain.


The weather was wet and cold, yet a 70% turnout in Watford as queses formed in the late afternoon onwards.


Conservatives won with large majority tearing seats from Labour held areas.

The Conservative Party's Commons majority is its largest since Margaret Thatcher won a third term in 1987.


US President Donald Trump congratulated Mr Johnson on his "great win".


The currency rose to a 2 1/2 year high after an exit poll showed a huge win for Boris Johnson's Conservatives.


Jeremy Corbyn will not lead another Labour Election, following its worst result since 1935. Although he did win in his Islington constituency.


Jo Swinson will step down as Liberal Democrat leader after losing her seat to the SNP by 149 votes.


In Hertfordshire the follwoing results:

Watford: Conservative Dean Russel

Hemel Hempstead: Conservative Mike Penning

St Albans: LibDems Daisy Cooper

Brozbourne: Conservative Charles Walker

Rickmansworth: !!

Harrow West: Labour Gareth Thomas

Ruislip, Northwood & Pinner: Cons David Simmonds


Voting held on 12-12-19 7am - 10pm.


The candidates from Watford are Dean Russell (Conservative), Ian Stotesbury (Lib Dems), Chris Ostrowski (Labour) and Michael McGetrick (SDP).

The candidates are Dean Russell (Conservative), Ian Stotesbury (Lib Dems), Chris Ostrowski (Labour) and Michael McGetrick. Parliamentary General Election 12 December 2019


This is the third general election in five years.


Hemel Hempstead

Mike Penning – Conservative

Nabila Ahmed – Labour

Sammy Barry – Liberal Democrats

Sherief Mamoun Hassan – Green Party



Julie Marson – Conservative

Chris Vince – Labour

Chris Lucas – Liberal Democrats

Lucy Downes – Green Party

Brian Percival – Independent

Alistair Lindsay – UKIP


If you want to vote at this election you must be registered to vote.  Please register now if you have not already done so - as soon it will be too late.  Applications to register must be received by Tuesday 26 November 2019.


To be eligible to vote at a UK general election you must be registered and also:

  • be 18 years of age or over on polling day be a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland
  • not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote.
  • Additionally, the following cannot vote in a UK general election:
  • members of the House of Lords
  • EU citizens resident in the UK
  • anyone other than British, Irish and qualifying Commonwealth citizen
  • convicted persons detained in pursuance of their sentences - though remand prisoners, unconvicted prisoners and civil prisoners can vote if they are on the electoral register
  • anyone found guilty within the previous five years of corrupt or illegal practices in connection with an election.


Welcome to Watford London UK!

Thanks for stopping by. We welcome your comments.

Contact us today!

We welcome your contact if you have news story, or event you would like covered.

Please email or use our contact form to get let us know.

Sitemap © 2021 WatfordLondon |